Mar 30, 2006

Japan Nite US Tour 2006


TsuShiMaMiRe

Stance Punks


The Rodeo Carburettor

03/28/06
8:30 post meridian
The Independant, San Francisco

The Bands: TsuShiMaMiRe, Stance Punks, The Emeralds, The Rodeo Carburettor, & PE'Z

I had to come out of my honeycomb hideout to check out the Japan Nite Tour when it rolled into the city last Tuesday. I prepared by requesting some personal time off from work on Wednesday. Now that I'm grown I don't have the stamina I once did when I was a youngster. I can't go out then come into work the next day anymore. Physically impossible.

A modest crowd showed up, not bad for a Tuesday I guess. The otaku scum were out in force man. Hell if I had a dollar for every Jlist/Hot Topic Full Metal Alchemist shirt I saw up in that sumbatch hehe... nah but for real though they were representing man hehe.

A couple Nihon no onna no hito were in the house.
Flavor indeed!

Stand outs for the nite:
The Rodeo Carburettor
**Nice Rock n' Roll flavor here man, nice presence on stage too. They rocked hard & they kept my attention throughout their set. I enjoyed their performance alot & it moved me enough to part with my hard earned $10 & buy their cd.

Stance Punks
Great sound! Great presence on stage! That lead singer was crazy as hell. My favorite Stance Punks moment was when the bass player says "Thank you very much!" after a song then immediately says "....and fuck you very much!". Me & Cabral almost fell out laughing man that shit was hilarious. Their performance moved me to purchase their cd as well.

TsuShiMaMiRe
A great performance & nice way to finish the gig. They've got a little following going on out here in the Bay which is cool as hell. I already own their cd which I like alot. They also played a song that I hadn't heard them play before...cool.

Gotta give it up to The Emeralds, you could tell that they were having fun up on stage. Favorite Emeralds moment is when they wanted the crowd to chant "San Francisco, Tuesday Nite, Rock n' Roll Party!"

Respect due to PE'Z for coming with a solid set, they were different from the other bands & variety is always nice.

I'm glad I came out, & I will always support events like this. Shout out to Ben Ten Tokyo & SXSW-ASIA.
Yo, I saw Audrey running around that nite but didn't get a chance to holler at her & say "hi". I did want to intrduce myself & to thank her for sending out the Ellegarden cd which is kick ass by the way! She looked preoccupied & there were alot of people around the browsing the cds & stuff, I'll catch her next time! Next thing up I believe is Japan Girls Nite 2006, I look forward to that, hopefully Red Bacteria Vacuum will be there hehe.

Pic of the Day.."Aw....Aw...Aw...Aw God!"...Edition

With all the pics that I post of these two..I should just create another blog and call it "Langdon Alger's obsession with Miki and Rika.."..





why isn't Miki wearing really tight shorts like Rika?...

how can I get photographer credentials for the next Sports Festival?

and because you can never get enough Aya...

oh..oh...wait...lets see that one pic again....

aw yeah...thats the stuff....

Mar 29, 2006

Oh, Hell Yeah!






I just picked this up today at Best Buy. This is so awesome. It's a movie called The Calamari Wrestler. Go pick it up NOW!

"I used to go Marlin fishing with Tom Jones in the 70s.."

FINALLY!!...



Singer Tom Jones Is Knighted

LONDON - Welsh singer Tom Jones' is getting used to meeting Queen Elizabeth — but Wednesday was something special as she dubbed him, "Sir Tom."

The 65-year-old singer, a coal miner's son from the Welsh town of Pontypridd, received the honor from the queen at Buckingham Palace.

Jones said he had met the British monarch "six or seven times, maybe more," starting with a royal charity performance in 1966.


"I love seeing the queen and I have always been a royalist," Jones said after the investiture. "She is lovely and she still is lovely."

The big-voiced belter, who was accompanied by his son, daughter and granddaughter, said receiving the knighthood was "just tremendous."


"When you first come into show business and you get a hit record, it is the start of something," he said.


"As time goes on, it just gets better. This is the best thing that I have had. It is a wonderful feeling, a heady feeling.


"Sometimes you just can't believe it, you think you have been dreaming."

Pic of the Day...Do You Remember That?...Edition

SOWELU

not a lot of pics floating on the web of this lovely lady..so here's one of her PVs..


Mar 27, 2006

It's Official





Here's a clip of everyone's favorite Nihon jin when it comes to sneakers, Nigo with the Teriyaki Boyz chillin with Pharrel while he speaks on the Ice Creams.
I was looking on the Neptunes site to see how much this stuff is hittin for ...try $1300 for a varsity jacket & around $80 for a t-shirt.hehe.

Yeah I rock it. But I rock it on my terms......

Then another clip of showing some BAPE love. ok enough of that.

It's official! Watashi wa go gatsu mikka ni tokyo ni ikimasu. Ashita kippu o kaimasu. Trip number 3 y'all with #4 & #5 to follow in July & August if all goes as planned. International player with a passport! Haha don't ask me how I'm doing it, all I know is my crazy schemes to make money had better work or I'm screwed!!!!

If all goes well I'll bring a lil something back from the Hello Project Store for you otaku scum in my life! Ja ne!

Is it just me? Or do Japanese girls really find this guy attractive?


For those of you who don't know this MAN is known as Gackt.
I recently came across him when someone suggested if I like j-pop I may like his music. I was talking to someone in my Japanese class discovered I only really listen to female vocalists and so this woman I was talking to highly recommended Gackt. Now I've listened to a few of his songs and their not bad, he has a pretty good voice, but the thing that confuses me is his look.
I've seen this look in many anime's and manga, you know the type, the guys that wear more makeup then women but are somehow straight.
So far, his is the best real life example I've seen, especially in his commercials and stuff.
Now here is my question, does this look really get women in Japan? because if so I'm going to need to make some changes before I go to Japan.

Mar 26, 2006

Tyrant Octopus

In this episode of Gimme Gimme Octopus, Octopus and Peanut prove to be brutal dictators, but with the help of Pink Walrus, the boys (?) learn their lesson...

Mar 25, 2006

*BONUS* J-Music Clip Of The Week

Artist: Abe Natsumi
Brand Spankin' New Single: Sweetholic



Sweetholic video DL

Buck Owens, 1929-2006


I don't know any Buck Owens songs, but he hosted Hee Haw and that's good enough for this blog. Buck, here's hopin' yer a pickin' and a grinnin' with some Hee Haw Honeys in the sky.

Clans of Intrigue


When the legendary swordsman Chu Liu-hsiang (or Master Chu) is framed for the murder of three prominent clan leaders, he has one month to clear his name or face judgement from the ladies of the Magic Water Palace. His path to find the real killer leads to a gambling parlor, mystery assassins, a poetic monk, a meddling desert princess, a mind-boggling sexual plot twist, and an equally outrageous final fight.


Filmed in 1977, Clans of Intrigue is by no means the slick, wire-fu, relentless-action marital arts films of today. But we do get to see some crude wire work and well-choreographed fight sequences. I saw this as part of the Asian Film Festival--Clans was playing at the Pacific Film Archive in Berkeley. Miss Dysphemism scored the tix and after seeing it, we definitely wanted to see more of the films (unfortunately the festival ends this weekend).

The audience was really into this movie, thanks to the sometimes unintentionally funny subtitles and also to many of the strange story elements thrown at the viewer; leading us to a finale SO ABSURD we had to applaud. Definitely worth watching with a group of friends if you're in the mood for some cheesy-fun 70s martial arts.

---

Who are Freefall Jones and EGMCruz?

J-Music Clip of the Week

...just in time for the Cherry Blossom Festival...


Artist: Sakura Gumi
Single: Sakura Mankai


Sakura Mankai video DL

Mar 23, 2006

Pic Of The Day.."She Can take a Shibata on Your What?!"..Edition

AYUMI SHIBATA

Pic of the Day...Awful Album Covers...Edition

Download of the Day - Grimm versus Doom


A lot of mainstream rappers use diss tracks to get fame. Diss a hot rapper, then he'll diss you back and your name is all over the headlines. Even better, shoot a hot rapper and get more street cred! In the underground circuit of rap music, it's a little different. Diss tracks get waaaaay more personal. You have to really wrong some other dude for a diss track to come about. I don't know the origin of the beef, but Grimm gets real personal on the last verse of "Book of Daniel."

Mar 22, 2006

"I Love to Singa...."

Hmmm...Now that has to be good....

every so often...you come across a new food combo in the grocery store that just catches your eye and automatically assume that it has to be good..like the first time you saw Sour Cream and Cheddar Potato Chips on the shelf.."hey..I like Sour Cream and I like Cheddar so those chips must taste really good!"...or when you first discovered Kettle Chips..."hey..I like..Kettles and I also like chips...so that has to taste really good!"...well, I came across a marriage of two snacks today that, for some reason, thought it was a can't miss ride to flavor heaven....




brothas...I was wrong...

Tsuji love continues



This is Nono performing "Ne e" as made famous by Ayaya, of course you otaku scum already knew that....

Yes..I am a Sexy Boy...

alright..I swear this will be the LAST version of Morning Musume performing Sexy Boy~Soyokaze ni Yorisotte~ that I'll post on here...but this one is by far the BEST...its from this past sunday's episode Hello! Morning...just pay attention to the right lower corner of the screen...oh..and I don't know if you guys have heard of this site called youtube.com...its really great!!..you should check it out sometime..


Mar 21, 2006

Tsuji the Hula Hoop Extraordinaire!

Being that Tsuji Eriku loves and admires Tsuji, I wanted to post a clip for Monsieur Tsuji. Here's your future babies mama rockin' the hula hoop. Work them hips Tsuji!!!!


By the way, that's a big freaking hula hoop!

Download of the Day: Freestyle edition

"...it’s time to channel your inner 15 year-old Puerto Rican girl with some freestyle."

DJ Ayres (of The Rub fame) wrote an article on the first wave (1985-87) of freestyle music for Fader magazine. Included in the article is a mini-megamix of selected freestyle tracks. Don't front like you never bumped this shit. Article and download can be found here. My only question is: Where the hell is Debbie Deb?

Best of Blogger Names..Volume 2

another week and another name to add to the "Best of" list...came across this blogger while browsing through our own Tsuji Eriku's personal blog ...so without further adieu..this week's inductee:



Carel3ss_Whisp3r
-About Me
The intention is clear, I stare... with this left hand, unable to be worded Every time I bleed, there lies the reason to live... And I discover words being so vivid and bright Even loved ones scatter like petals from flowers in my hand So even if I engraved the meaning that I lived in my hand, it will only be known as flowers of vanity The final One by one it multiplies... why be a sad bait? Deep within the hell of my heart... I can't go back A self-torture loser, not being able to see tomorrow Suicide is the proof of life Even loved ones scatter like petals from flowers in my hand So even if I engraved the meaning that I lived in my hand, the petals will only scatter as flowers of vanity So I can't live What's lost can't be born again A song that's not even seeking the proof of living Let's put an end... The Final Let's bloom flowers of attempted suicide.-
um..yeah...you can check out the Carel3ss one's blog here
Langdon's note: alright..its not as funny as KagoFeet BUT you gotta see Carel3ss_Whisp3r to truly appreciate the name..

Mar 20, 2006

You know you want to see this.

Best of Your Opinion Doesn't Count: Terrence Maddox

one of the most interesting events in this blogs short history was the ongoing soap opera involving the now missing in action Terrence Maddox and his series of B & C stories...

originally posted August 2005


Now Leaving Dodge
After this weekend, if not sooner, I think most of my time will be spent holding up in my house w/ the exception of basketball/grocery outings. Synopsis: I have 2 friends, B & C. I'm a long-time buddy of B, who has brought C around the last couple of times we hung out. I met C through B a while ago, but have gotten to know C only recently since C has been coming around more often. To the chagrin of B, C seems to be taking a quick liking to me. The red flags on this are that C has a boyfriend, but the relationship is often strained by neglect & being an asshole. B also says C has "whore-like qualities", the least of which apparently includes keeping an eye out for someone better.
B has been complaining about C's antics for a while, but since C now seems to be "targeting" a close friend (me) B is especially on edge. Whenever C even touches my arm or hugs me, B gives me a disapproving look or kicks me under the table. Most of our phone/email conversations revolves around C & how annoyed B is.
This whole thing is wearing me out. I'm tired of worrying about what B is thinking every time I interact in any way w/ C. On the other side, I've been trying to give C the benefit of the doubt, thinking maybe she just appreciates someone being nice to her. Unfortunately I've heard about C long before I started hanging out w/ her, so not only am I aware of the track record, it looks a lil' bit closer to repeating itself each time we're out. To make things weirder, C will be living within walking distance from me by the end of this month.
I'm really not mad @ either of them but I think I need a break from that scene, which may also necessitate staying away from some mutual friends as well. Fortunately, 510 & 707 pals aren't part of that circle. Like Murtaugh said w/ drained yet sage-like wisdom in the Lethal Weapon epics: I'm too old for this shit.
-Terrence Maddox

Mar 18, 2006

J-Music Clip Of the Week

Artist: Yuko Ogura
Single: Onna no Ko Otoko no Ko

Onna no Ko Otoko no Ko video DL

WARNING!!!!...THIS VIDEO IS INFECTIOUSLY CUTE....seriously..you can't watch it just once..you will uncontrollably have to watch it over and over and over again...Yuko, the song, EVERYTHING is just so kawaii!!.oh and by simply watching Onna no Ko Otoko no Ko, your own cuteness meter is guaranteed to go up by at least one point..


..and as Eriku mentioned in a previous post, this song can be heard during the end credits to the kick ass anime School Rumble..

Time to take this blog in a new direction

While sitting atop my jeweled throne, pondering things that only I am capable of pondering, I came to a sobering realization: this blog bores me. It’s become repetitive, derivative, negative, and every other “ive” word you can think of. I’ve found it increasingly difficult to sleep at night knowing that all of our readers have to trudge through pages and pages of drivel to reach literary masterworks like Terror of the Drop Bear.

My first decision was to blow this nerd hole. But realizing that all the readers would come with me, it pained my cyborg heart to leave the other bloggers with nothing. Without the attention they so desperately crave, they would shrivel up and become wrinkled, empty, prune-like excuses for human beings. Kind of like Freefall Jones.

That’s a fate worse than death. So for the sake of this blog and its posters, I am not leaving. But I will REINVIGORATE THIS PLACE. The idea hit me like a bolt of lightning from the heavens. I will break the norm, step outside the box, and bring culture to all you mindless husks that call yourselves bloggers by introducing you to the STARS OF JAPANESE POP MUSIC.

Japanese pop music is also known as “J-Pop” (which is short for “Japanese Pop”), even in Japan. Not many people have heard of it, but it has fascinated me for a long time. While my mind is especially expansive, I think the rest of you are finally ready to accept J-Pop the way I have. I’ve even gone so far as to develop a technology that embeds a VIDEO CLIP in my posts, linked from an obscure website I discovered.

My first video is from a new J-Pop group known as “Puffy AmiYumi,” consisting of two young ladies whose names are “Ami” and “Yumi.” The song is called “Talalan,” which apparently is Japanese for acid trip. The song chronicles the travels of an anthropomorphic polar bear who mauls a farmer while chasing animated versions of Ami and Yumi, presumably to maul them too. I won’t spoil the cliffhanger, but I will state one unequivocal, indisputable fact: if you watch the Puffy girls perform their choreographed dance in this video, and not get the urge to leap through your monitor and just gobble them up, YOU HAVE NO SOUL.

Mar 17, 2006

Baby Octopus --UPDATED

What the hell?



It looks like they LOSE the baby, so the big octopus has to take the baby's place? No, seriously, what the hell?

UPDATE: This Japanese kids show is called Gimme Gimme Octopus and it follows the adventures of two friends: an octopus and a giant peanut. They're kinda dicks. Here's an episode where they torture a dragon by stealing his mosquito repellent (that repellent coil brought back some memories) and another where they mess with the same dragon by trying to take his book while he's reading.

Pic of the Day..."Hmmmm...Nacchi"..Edition

NATSUMI ABE

Snakes On A Plane

That movie title is pretty much as literal as it gets.

The Return of...Tales of the Somewhat Strange and Creepy..



This auction is for a Paranormal/Haunted Item. SERIOUS BIDS ONLY.

****WARNING****
The item being placed up for bid is part of the Morbid Mall’s Scary as Hell collection. This means that you are most likely to experience paranormal activity out of the item. MorbidMall.com is not responsible for it’s behavior. Please take that into consideration before bidding.

This auction is for a 1960-63 EEGEE Co. “Bozo” doll. These dolls are vintage and rare. The donator of this item found it at an Estate Sale located near York, Pennsylvania. This was sometime in the mid-80s. Immediately after purchase, the donator started noticing strange things in their home... mostly doors slamming, and growling noises. This continued for several months. When donator moved the item out of the house, the strange events stopped.

Several years later, the doll was donated to an antique auction. The problem became that
whenever the proprietors of the auction would leave and come back the next day, the clown would be in the middle of the isle; far away from where it was originally stored. This happened on several occasions until the proprietors refused to be associated with it, and gave it back to the donator.

Doll is approx. 2 ¼ feet tall and is in fair condition, as it has aged. We suggest that winning bidder be familiar with the paranormal and be aware of the possible disturbances caused from the purchase of this Item. Happy Bidding!

Pic of the Day...Awful Album Covers...Edition

Mar 16, 2006

Best Of Your Opinion Doesn't Count:Pic of the Day

yup..I've resorted to rehashing old posts..

Originally Posted August 2005






(add your caption here)


oh..and if you don't know who these people are..its the famous Batboy and Mike Bibby...I forget which is which...

Mar 15, 2006

Pic of the Day...I'll Show Her My Charmy...Edition

..me like Rika...me like Rika A LOT!!!...Eriku no like Rika much...he say Rika too much attention for no reason...him am crazy...even she can no sing, me think Rika get all attention she deserve....why?..cuz she so cute and adorable...although not sharpest knife in drawer..she kind of dork..but still...it part of her Charm-y..ha ha ha..me try make joke...sorry for no good speak..me no think right when think Rika...and so..me give to you..




ISHIKAWA RIKA



Mar 14, 2006

What's On Your Desktop - Samuel Weinstein Part Deux


David Axelrod - Songs of Experience

Another edition of what's on my desktop. This dandy of a record came out in 1969. David Axelrod was a record producer for Capitol Records who produced people like Cannonball Adderley and Lou Rawls. Yes, THE Lou Rawls. Axelrod's music is kinda loungy but his music contains orchestrations with fatback drums. Pretty much a trademark of Mr. Axelrod. A lot of his music was based on his use of Cocaine, but it is brooding thinking man's music. This particular album has the sample Ultramagnetic used for their 1996 song, Industry is Wack. If you are interested check out the song Divine Image for some monster drums with a sinister sounding theme.

Here is a website devoted to Mr. Axelrod. If you hear the sound samples that the site has, you may hear a few familiar tunes.


http://www.geocities.com/SunsetStrip/Lobby/8238/

Awwwwwww Shucky Ducky...

Pic of the Day...Awful Album Covers...Edition


and so that Eriku doesn't have another childish tirade...this and other Awful Album Covers can be found here..

Mar 13, 2006

NEW FEATURE!!!!.....Best of Blogger Names...

really no need for an explanation here...I know all of you have come across some creative IDs while browsing the various blogs out there...I know I have... so this little feature was made to basically celebrate the creative geniuses who come up with some very..very unique names....without further adieu....our very FIRST Best of Blogger Names inductee...

KagoFeet




I have to admit...it was KagoFeet who inspired me to create this new feature..after seeing his name spring up numerous times on Cult of Pop..I became so intrigued by the name...did this person really like Kago Ai?...and was their favorite part of this Jpop Idol her feet?...hmmm....regardless of the meaning behind the blogger ID....IT IS PURE GENIUS!!!.....so be sure to check out Mr.Feet's blog at http://donttouchmyjpop.blogspot.com/

Mar 12, 2006

Save Japan Town then go watch Wasabi.


I hear you bro!!



Hirosue Ryoko



I picked this flick up for $20 bucks at Barnes & Nobles recently. I first saw it back in 2003. If you're in the mood for a fun flick I highly recommend that you pick it up. It stars everyone's favorite Frenchman Jean Reno & an idol I wasn't to keen on before, Ryoko Hirosue. I will say that she is a great actress & does an outstanding job playing a Tokyo ga-ru with attitude. She is so kawaii in this movie!
You get to see Tokyo Street scenes and Ryoko make Jean Reno's life hell. The guy that plays Momo provides a good amount of comic relief. This is not a movie to be taken seriously but rather a fun way to kill some spare time.

After Japanese class Cabral & I walked back to Japan Town for some eats & came across this brotha fighting the good fight. He was holding up signs & passing out flyers for the Save Japan Town rally/petition. For those that don't know, Japan Center is going up for sale soon (from what I gather). Depending on who buys the place & what they plan to do with it...it could spell the end for Japan Town. This would suck, no doubt. The more I thought about it though if I really really really wanted to be real about the situation, I'd have to say that whoever's in charge at Japan Center could have done a way better job keeping the place up & getting other boutiques to do business there. I mean if there were more places that had what I needed I would be blowing alot more okane in there than I do now. I took a step back while I was there yesterday & kinda looked around & soaked it all in. I can definitely say that Japan Center has seen much better days.
Would it be such a bad thing if a new company did buy Japan Center? It would if they bought it & turned it into something other than a Japan Town. If they bought it & kept the place Japan Town but brought in a fresh new vibe...I think that may be good. I have frequented many restuarants & stores in Japan Center for years... but let's face it, business is business & every one of those shops would have to step up game if I were running Japan Center.
Just a thought, I would definitely rather have my rickety old Japan Center than have no Japan Center at all but I am imagining a new & improved Japan Center with kick ass boutiques in it where I could hang out all day long after class ya know. What about the stores in there already? Well Nihon Machi, across the street from Japan Center would be a great place to renovate & could house alot of the smaller boutiques doing business in the Center now. Wow it all seems so simple hehe. I know I'm missing something here but it's just a thought....well minna be safe out there.

I'm thinking of organizing my own save J-Town rally complete with breakdancers & a special guest rap performance by Ice-T. It would be a great opportunity to bring together the rival break dance crews in the city for a good cause. What do you guys think?

P.S.
Langdon, I hope your pet tarantula doesn't escape from his cage, crawl up your one rolled up pant leg while you're sleeping & bite the inside of your ass cheek releasing venom that gives you a horrible itchy rash.
Freefall I hope that you don't slip as you're getting into the shower then fall hitting your head, knocking you out for a couple days butt ass naked on the floor & your neighbor calls emergency services to check on you because your mail is piling up then the police & fire men find you passed out butt ass naked on your bathroom floor in the fetal position shivering in your own urine & feces.
I really hope that doesn't happen to you guys because you're both my friends & I love you guys dearly as much as a non gay guy could love another non gay guy except Langdon because he's gay. But I'm not.