Mar 31, 2007

Japan Nite 2007

Damn why didn't you motherfuckers tell me I had to send money to Comcast every month to get internet service? I know I'm putting myself on blast right now, but you guys know I don't give a shit. I've been on some real dead beat shit lately & the internet service was cut off for a couple weeks. It was hell trying to use my ketai to browse the internet, HELL I TELL YOU!

Anyways, Japan Nite was awesome this year. Out of all the years I went this was by far the best time I've had.The line up was great & the different bands played a nice mixture of music that kept me entertained throughout the evening. I had never seen or heard of any of the bands that played so that was a big bonus. I love discovering new music/bands.

There was the otaku scum element in the house but this time I was really surprised to see that there was a shitload of hot Japanese women there too. There was definitely more Japanese in the house more so than any of the previous Japan Nites, I wonder if it's just the word of mouth, I really didn't see a change in the promotion this time. Maybe college radio promo?

I rolled up there with Tammy Chan & we met Cabraru & Rolo up at the Independant.

First up was a band called Asakusa Jinta. I read some shit online that described their music as "hard marching music". They had a great presence onstage & they rocked their set, it was different & cool. They had this chick playing what I think was a sax, she ripped shit, oh their lead singer played a stand up bass. They had this beautiful girl playing the accordian. They were different & I liked their set alot, enough to pick up their cd. Unfortunately the energy I felt when they played live didn't transer well on the studio recording. Regardless of that fact I would definitely go & see them play again if they were in town.

Next Oreska Band took the stage. I love ska, more poppy ska & this was up my alley. The leader seemed to be the trombone player, she was cute & talked alot during the set. I loved their style & swagger. They were cute & cool! I purchased their cd as well. I had never heard of them before & was surprised to find a Pocky commercial featuring them on you tube. Check it out!



The 50 Kaitenz were next. Sou desu ne....how can I describe them? How about HOLY FUCKING SHIT! I love these guys, they rocked out & had alot of flavor & style. They were funny as shit too. They had a very unique look, they had us in stitches. I was disappointed that they didn't have a cd for sale, at least I didn't see one for sale.

Go!Go!7188 was awesome, they had a great sound. I enjoyed their set alot. Solid.Solid. Solid. I would definitely see them again if they happened to be in town.

The last band was HY, their name is inspired by the band's hometown of Higashi Yakane located on the east coast of Okinawa's main island. At first we were like ehhh...but just when I was considering writing them off they unleashed the rock. They had a great mix in their music. I loved how they have two members that can sing lead. A male vocalist & female vocalist, this allows for greater variety. I liked their set so much that I bought two of their cds. To be honest their cds get the most play! A good half of their songs sound like the opening themes to tv doramas, then the other half of their songs sound lik the ending themes to tv doramas. it's kinda funny but just listen & you'll understand what I'm talking about.

A great time, I'm glad I went. The crowd had a lot more wimmins this time too. I am already looking forward to next years Japan Nite. Next year if the tour hits your town you owe it to yourself as a Jpop culture fanatic to go.

CLASSIC Dancing Dude

Note the suh-weet mudflap girl t-shirt. ...Craig, this guy might give you a run for your money.

Mar 30, 2007

Pic of the Day "Sweet Sweet Nacchi" Edition

the ad wizards at H!P are churning out the photobooks at such a breakneck speed that wotas everywhere are having to ask for multiple advances in there allowances in order to purchase each and every one..on the heels of Aichan and Eri's PB releases, Natsumi Abe is the latest to show off her oh-so hot body to fans everywhere....AND word is that (my)Risa Niigaki will be coming out with her own Alo-Hello! DVD and photobook this coming summer.


NATSUMI ABE





Mar 27, 2007

"..My Style Broke Motherfuckin Backs Like Ken Patera"

and now a brief interruption in your regular programming...


this shit still gets me hype...not "2 Hype" like Kid n' Play but you know what I mean

Mar 26, 2007

J-Music Clip of the Week "Yes..They ARE Great" Edition


Artist: GAM ~ Great Aya and Miki
Single: Daisuki Rakuten Eagles

Daisuki Rakuten Eagles video DL

Yesterday in Akihabara...



Here is their inspiration ("Haruhi" anime) along with action figure parody (Viewing more optional than usual):

Mar 25, 2007

Wii Sex

I can't pinpoint it, but something about this seems "British" (no offense, Craig) or at least, "Canadian"...at least it's not a PS-TRIPLE, yo.

Mar 23, 2007

Hikaru weighs in on the console wars



While I'm sure many of you have seen this already, I just can't seem to get enough of this guy.

(not really Hikaru, but I wish it was)

Blogwatch: Steampunk Star Wars


From Eric's Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Idea:

"Lord Vader...is a master with the traditional weapon of Force champions, the Phlogisticated Aether Torch, more commonly referred to as the phlogisabre."

I f**kin' love it. More awesome steampunkery here.

Miki In A Short Leather Skirt!!!

that got your attention...but here's a 30sec preview of Morning Musume's upcoming PV for the single "Kanashimi Twilight"




[Uploader] Rika and Kids perf. 'Linda Linda'?*

* a-airi1353.avi @ http://airiangel.dip.jp/angel/kapparoda.cgi

This isn't from the most recent big H!P concert but from the one B4. I thought u guys might like it.

Mar 19, 2007

Casino Royale


----

James Bond: Vodka Martini, dry.
Bartender: Would you like that shaken or stirred?
James Bond: Do I look like I give a damn?

----

James Bond is a dick.

He talks like a dick, he acts like a dick, he even parks his car like a dick. ...and it's awesome.

When he literally runs through walls and blows up an embassy in Madagascar to chase down a terrorist, all you can think is--fuck you and your CG-surfing, Pierce Brosnan.

Daniel Craig's Bond isn't exactly "handsome", but when you're ripped like this:


...who the hell cares?

I'm going to the gym.

Bonus: Daniel Craig is a pretty good actor. You actually believe he's interested with what's happening in the movie >coughfuckyouBrosnancough<.

And even though Craig (Daniel Craig, not YODC Craig) delivers the classic line memorably, here's my favorite version:



(look at that--even a youtube "play" button can't cover up the nonchalant cockiness oozing from Connery)

:)

I'll settle for this as my funny video today 'cos it's cute:

I blame CJ LOL

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

http://www.google.co.uk/search?hl=en&q=your+opinion+doesn%27t+count&meta=

http://youropiniondoesntcount.blogspot.com/2007/01/i-wanna-fuck-you.html

Mar 18, 2007

Japan Nite US Tour 2007

Monday March 19th at the Independant in San Francisco. Doors open at 7:30 PM.Show starts at 8 PM.Tickets $12 adv, $14 at the door. The following bands will be performing:
HY
The 50 Kaitenz
GO!GO!7188
ORESKABAND
Asakusa Jinta

so if you're in the Bay Area be sure to check it out. Our very own Tsuji Eriku will be in attendance providing exclusive YODC coverage.


Pic of the Day " I Wanna Phuket Her...I Wanna Phuket Her HARD" Edition

here's pics from Takahashi Ai's latest photobook Love Hello! that she shot in Phuket Thailand



Mar 17, 2007

The cum trees are in bloom.


Do you have these in your neighborhood? Then you know what I'm talking about. They smell like cum. And don't pretend you don't know what that smells like.

The hospital I live next to has a whole row of them lining the sidewalk in front of it. I can't walk through there without wanting to puke.

I will say though, I did see a couple of ladies sitting on a bench right underneath them having no trouble at all. nyeh-heh-heh-heh-heh. cum.

Kiriko Nananan

Cute looking manga artist (being interviewed or something):

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Makes me feel funny in my pants X)

Here she is again (holding up one of her works):

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

but wait she looks a little diiferent? Why is that?

5 YEARS that's why! Yes those 1st pics were taken in the year 2000 :o (and this one in 2005.)

(French) Links:

Edit: Bit of trivia for Tsuji: She has @ least 1 tatoo visible here.

Captain Saki

Image Hosting by Picoodle.com

Mar 16, 2007

"Sex Packets"

sex packet

Biochemically compacted sexual affection, sex in a pill, comes wrapped in paper. You can get three for $10.99. Digital Underground refers to these pills in their song "Sex Packets"

Sex packets, a dollar or two


( by desplagues austin Jul 24, 2006, Urban Dictionary )



( Product displayed at end of vid )

I still don't really know what they are. Theories: viagra, aphrodisiac, or just mind altering drug (considered as enjoyable as sex).



(Shock G filmed By J-Sin Diablo of Late Nite Sinners.)

Mar 13, 2007

Wookin' Pa Nub

Now those that know me know that I am a realist. At the same time I consider myself to be a hopeless romantic. Chotto matte...is it possible to be both? On one hand I think I get straight to the point in making decisions in my life in regards to my work & my love life & relationships. I pride myself in keeping it real & not having any fantasies or illusions about what is going on in my life.

Then I go home & watch 1 Liter of Tears or Densha Otoko, I ain't gonna lie, I crave the romantic situations & love affairs I see being played out in those dramas.

But,I believed that fate would put me in the right place at the right time. The stars & the planets would be perfectly aligned & I would bump into the next Jennice or Glynnis. I would let nature take it's course just like it happened before. I thought that using things like myspace or an online dating service was wiggety wack. I have never had a problem getting pussy, I almost thought that doing something like signing up for an online match making service or friend network would be stooping pretty low.

Now the reality of being single at my age (sanju sai desu)is pretty harsh. I am a guy that has pretty specific tastes in women, I also want to move to Tokyo & I have been actively trying to move to Japan for the past year. There's a couple women that have expressed interest in dating me & possibly growing a relationship into something more. Very nice girls but not my type physically, again they are from the San Francisco Bay Area & I am trying to move to Japan. Even when I did bump into a girl that I thought was super hot (Roxy)I really felt that age was a factor (she was 20 at the time we met) & she was having fun going out & so active at her school that I felt we were worlds apart & the only thing that kept me active in any exchange with Roxy was that she was a hot piece of ass. Then there's the whole I want to move to Japan thing again. So what's the use? Why spend all the time & energy in cultivating a romantic relationship, getting hung up emotionally then leave? Trust me folks, at my age & after all I've been through in life, even if Roxy & I did get something going if I had the opportunity to move to Japan I still would move & leave that sweet hot 20 year old ass here in San Francisco.

There's not too many places I can go to meet new women either. I don't really like to go clubbing, let's see...I met Mariya at a seminar for work, I met Lauri at a club & I met Roxy at a restaurant, she was waiting tables while my friends & I were drinking at the bar.

As time went on I started to think more & more about giving an online network a shot, I could cut to the chase & meet women in Tokyo that meet the criteria for a suitable partner for romantic activities I have set up , get to know them first & hang out when I go there, I do try to get out there every six months or so anyways & if I do happen to land a job then even better, I'll be in the area anyways.

I signed up for a "friend network" last Saturday. I kept it real in my profile, I really put who I am & what my interests etc. are. It's all there, all real. I uploaded a photo & now that the bait is out there, let the online adventure begin!

My free account limits my ability to communicate with other people on the network with paid accounts. I just can't bring myself to shell out any cash for this. I keep thinking of the poor otaku scum bastards that are getting sold the dream of hooking up with a real live chick from Japan. I'll keep it free style for now & see what happens. I logged in today & saw that 3 chicks looked at my profile hehe. One of them was pretty fly, she was pretty cute. I must say it was kinda fun browsing all the profiles today.

I'm not sure how I want to go about writing about this online adventure. If I do meet any chicks I'm not sure I'd want to put them on blast here at YODC, I'd want to respect their privacy & that's the only reason why I didn't mention which network it is I signed up for. It's actually not that hard to figure out. It has nothing to do with what I put on my profile, because I kept it real anyways.

Any stories will be true but I do want to protect the privacy of the subjects of my articles that are in the dark in regards to YODC.

Well, stay tuned this promises to be pretty fun, funny & who knows I just might meet someone worth getting to know or having sex with.

Excerpt from Tsuji's profile:
(in regards to the type of person I would like to hook up with)
What's sexy: A woman that is not afraid to admit she has oktaku tendencies! Someone with cute style & a cute smile.

J-Music Clip of the Week .."A Little Ueto Love" Edition

Artist: Aya Ueto
Single: Way to Heaven

Way to Heaven video DL

M!CHIBATA

Not sure if this blog has been mentioned here before, but I'm sure the YODC audience wouldn't mind. Then again, she may be too old for you guys.

Mar 11, 2007

ii otenki desu ne



It was such a nice day today that I rolled through the town with the windows rolled down on Chunky Black bumpin' this track by Hinoi Team...

Aa! "First Kiss" remix

courtesy captainmanabon: [youtube vid]



(The timing is really excellent.)

Word to W



This is so flavor. "17 no Natsu" by Sakurada Junko
You guys know the remake by our beloved W

This is so awesome...

credit wotomenoko youtube

Mar 10, 2007

Ghost Rider


Michael "Shakespeare" Carrington is a straight-laced exchange student from England attending Rydell High. When he tries to go on a date with Stephanie, one of the hot-chick Pink Ladies, he unfortunately finds out that Pink Ladies only slut it up for the cool boys in the motorcycle gang, the T-Birds.

So to raise his cool quotient, Michael earns enough money to secretly build his own motorcycle and learn how to become the GREATEST RIDER IN THE UNIVERSE in, like, two days.

Soon enough, his newfound skills are put to the test when he has to save the T-Birds, the Pink Ladies, and some other kids at the bowling alley from Balmundo and the Cycle Lords. Disguised in goggles, a helmet, and black leather outfit, Michael embarrasses Balumundo's gang into gently laying their motorcycles on the ground.

Wanting to maintain his new, cool persona, Michael doesn't reveal himself right away, and instead opts to confidently romance Stephanie with his totally non-masculine motorcycle disguise. Seriously, no shirt with your leather jumpsuit zipped open down to your waist? It's rainin' men.

Sadly, before he could tell Stephanie he was really the mysterious rider, Michael is chased over a cliff by the T-Birds--who are such cockblockers that they'll kill anyone that goes after their women. Bravo. I would do the same thing.

So now Michael is in Biker Heaven, but he makes some kind of deal with God to come back to Earth as the Ghost Rider and avenge his own death.


How does he avenge his death? By riding circles (again) around Balmundo and his gang at the high school's graduation luau. Wait a freakin' minute. He's given a chance at revenge, but doesn't kill the T-Birds? Instead, he JOINS the T-Birds? WTF? You suck Ghost Rider.

Mar 9, 2007

Colbert's Word on Captain America

Berryz @ T0KY0 FM

[ Below = Webcam pics + radio mp3 (including [Edit: Gaki Taishou], an A Cappella, and a song that Saki requests) + Translated webpages which reveal details of what was said ]

Flickr (try refreshing page if you get an error message):




sendspace: chinami0132.mp3


Google Language Tools: On Air Report, Artist Information

Mar 7, 2007

Pic of the Day.."Simply Eye Candy" Edition

but eye candy is never simple is it?..there's so many scrumptious layers to devour..mmm hmm..


SAYAKA ANDO

Berryzć„›

Let me share this with you – MEGAUPLOAD: Momo121.avi (99.5 MB)

Also let me preview/review it LOL:

Don’t be fooled by the start of the program:

Image Hosting by Picoodle.com

this video is full of Berryz goodness.


What happens is this kid:

Image Hosting by Picoodle.com

gets to meet Berryz.


This is Berryz in the Maiha era:

Image Hosting by Picoodle.com


Miyabi is love in this bit:

Image Hosting by Picoodle.com


This bit is hehe:

Image Hosting by Picoodle.com


During the vid you really get a feel of what the fans see:

Image Hosting by Picoodle.com

(They see a lot!)


This ruler thing at the end is pretty cool:

Image Hosting by Picoodle.com

it turns into wrist-band:

Image Hosting by Picoodle.com

I'd quite like one :)


This was all a nice bit of Berryz love, I’m happy I found it today (& happy to share!).

Electric Dragon 80000V (Movie trailer)

While researching The Boredom I came across this (did I see it here B4?):



Edit: I think I remember now I saw it on the BBC's Japanorama.

Butoh

Leafing through the Lonely Planet guide to Japan I got from the library I came across something called Butoh. It's a kind of dance. YouTube has some stuff on it but dailymotion wins the "What Will I Embed Contest":


Butoh
Uploaded by Iconographe

What you see above is actualy Ankoku Butoh meaning Dance of Darkness but I believe Butoh can also be taken to mean simply dance. What follows is an impressive Butoh (2nd Place in the "What Will I Embed Contest"):



If that is a representation of the Hindu goddess Maha Gurda then I must say I've never seen Hinduism look so appealing hehe :) *hopes not to be struck down by anything*

Edit: Maybe that 2nd video should have taken 1st place, it's pretty good.

Edit 2: No sorry I apologize I think that's meant to be Shiva (Hindu goddess of Destruction no less!) and in traditional Indian that dance would be called Nataraj (literally meaning Dance King).

Edit 3: Or it could simply be called Shiva Dance.

Mar 6, 2007

J-Music Clip of the Week


Artist: Morning Musume
Single: Sayonara no Kawari ni (Oha Star Performance)



Sayonara no Kawari ni video DL