Nov 28, 2007

Kou Kou Kyoushi


Fujiki & Aya


Sonim

There was a couple reasons why I wanted to checkout this dorama. Ueto Aya of course was a big draw. I am also a huge fan of Fujiki Naohito, the dude is kako ii to the core man. Dudes want to be him & bitches want to be with him. The story was also a draw...I think Wonton described the story something like, Aya has sex with her High School teacher, ok! Say no more! I'm in! Hook it up!

So starting out I find that Fujiki is dying AGAIN! I mean he kicked the can in Itoshi Kimie didn't he? So I guess in this series Fujiki is a zombie. This series also stars Sonim (Kim Yung Mok's folks). Sonim was looking oh so you-know-what-able. I love Ueto Aya but I did not like her hairstyle in this. She can look way hotter.

I just finished this series up last night & I give it 3.5 out of 5 stars.
Was the story the bomb? Not really.
The acting was alright.
The reason why I liked this dorama was that it's the only time I could see these taboo things played out.
And because I watched the latter part of the series with my mouth open in shock.

People that watch this dorama could easily get the wrong idea about Japan. Just like people who come to my house & see all the idol posters & look at me wierd.

For example, if I had never been to Japan or been around native Japanese people I would think that all Japanese school girls are hot little pieces that fiend for some of their High School teacher's sweet meat. I would also think that all Japanese school girls have no parental supervision & can roam the streets of Tokyo at all hours of the night hooking up with strange (adult) men staying the night at their apartments. I would think that it would be ok for a grown man to have a romantic relationship with a teenage girl & consummate the relationship. I would also think that it would be ok to rape teenage Japanese girls as long as I apologized for it & everyone would still love me.

There was one scene where I was like "no effing way!!!!" where Fujiki's character was in the gym discussing his "relationship" with Aya Ueto with THE HEAD TEACHER! Hell at one point when Fujiki & Aya had a falling out Fujiki begged the head teacher to talk to Aya & apologize for him.

WHERE THE HELL ARE THESE PARENTS AT??????

Sonim plays a drop out that takes a hustlin' host as a boyfriend (played by Hiroki Narimiya) that puts her to work in a whore house & she was looking pretty damned hot if I do say so.

That placed looked familiar..............I think some of my dna was in that place.

That's why I give this drama a 3.5 out of 5 stars, strictly for the what the fuck moments.

The ending is one of those Japanese mind fucks too, you're all like dammit man!!!!
I went to bed with blue balls after seeing that ending.


Nov 27, 2007

Thankful After Thanksgiving

got back into town late last nite after a long stay in the southland for the Thanksgiving holiday..had several packages waiting for me when I got home which made me a very happy boy


my 2008 Aya Matsuura calendar courtesy of the good people at Jlist.com... I strategically hung it over my desk so that I may gaze upon Aya's purty face whenever I'm working on something...the sumbatch is HUGE..I mean you could probably like kiss it or something and pretend you were spending a quiet evening with Ayaya in your room watching movies and play videogames...err...or something


picked up these little gems off of this site called Ebay(maybe you heard of it) without emptying out my wallet....Tokyo Tribe Saru "Statue" which is actually a piggy bank...pretty fauckin bad ass and it cost me less than 30 bones


and finally my Garden Tribe Kai by Michael Lau...the final piece I needed to complete the Garden Tribe set..when I hit up Kidrobot with Eriku and Weinstein a few weeks back, KR was selling this same figure for over a hundred bones...I was able to get it off ebay for around $40...talk about a jew of a deal...
and here's a pic of my slowly growing Santastic shelf




Coming Soon To YODC's Resident East Coast Italian...

...this beauty right here:



Since St. Nick can't put Reina Tanaka under my tree without incurring the wrath of both Up-Front Works and my girlfriend, I settled some something else that I've always wanted. I'll be plugging this puppy into my PowerBook and doing some serious crate diggin' and vinyl ripping in 2008.

Takeuchi Mariya



So I was in Shibuya at a Yakiniku joint with Mizuho getting bent off the brew when this song came on. I stopped & gigged for a minute & was like Mimi Chan who sings this song? "Takeuchi Mariya", she replied.

I was like damn man we gotta stop by HMV on the way to the station I gotta pick this cd up.
When we got to HMV we looked & looked but Mizuho was like, I forgot the name of the song & what album it was on. It's old I think my sister has an old MD with that song on it.
Disappointed we left & I was too drunk to walk down to Tower Records in the rain.
I was looking forward to a nice warm futon & a nap.

So the day before I left Tokyo I stopped by Tower & I just picked up a few random Takeuchi Mariya cds thinking, I know one of these goddamn cds has that tune on it!

.......how about NO

So if any of you out there can help a brother out with the name of this song & the album it's on HOOK IT UP. Needless to say I never got an MD in the mail from Mizuho... =(

And I tried my best to listen carefully to the video but my ears only hear Takeuchi Mariya San no blah rhapsody blah blah.

UPDATE



Jun'ai Rhapsody from the Impressions album

until I found the vid of Yoshizawa Hitomi singing the song I really didn't know what to look for, I heard it in a busy restaurant while I was eating & drinking playing in the background, halfway drunk...awesome

He's got the touch

Nov 26, 2007

EGM Live*



*not actually live

Every now and then I sit in on the show during listener mail, but this last episode I got to host the podcast.

Listen now!
Or download by right-clicking and doing a "save as"

Tales from the Office:
Make a Move!

I work on the 8th floor of a big office building and can see onto the roof of the building next to us. Today at around 4:30 I noticed two people sitting on that roof. It was a man and woman.

Immediately, I called out to my co-workers, "Hey, check out this office romance!"

We couldn't hear what they were saying, but the dude was trying his best to look cool, he was smoking a cigarette and was sitting with one leg up and his arm resting on his knee. And the girl was sitting Indian-style with here head tilted--listening intently to everything he was saying.

The sun was starting to set, so we figured this guy was trying to score some points with his little rooftop-cigarette-break stunt. After about five minutes of watching him not do anything, we finally made a sign and taped it to the window: MAKE A MOVE!

There were about six of us standing there waiting for this chump to do something. But nope. The girl was laughing at his jokes, touching his hand, ...we don't know the full story, but it looked like she was interested to us.

While they had their little conversation on the roof, we were trying to get his attention (her back was to us, and he was slightly turned our way -- all he had to do was look up and he'd see us). We knocked on the window, jumped up and down, and even used a megaphone, but none of that worked.

Finally the two of them got up to leave and then the dude starts doing this stupid jig. It wasn't a dance...it' was just a couple steps where he bounced up and down...a jig. It looked bad. We were embarrassed for him.

At that point the guy and girl looked up and saw all of us. We started waving and they laughed. We pointed at our "MAKE A MOVE!" sign and the girl pointed at the guy, laughed, scrunched her face, and shook her head.

Ouch.

We laughed for like five minutes after that.

Below: Son of Gigan makes a move.

Nov 25, 2007

Kitagawa Keiko



Sooo cute!



I've finally gotten around to watching the 2nd disc of the first volume of my Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon live action series my favorite Sailor Senshi by far is Sailor Mars, Hino Rei played byKitagawa Keiko. Yes I do feel gay watching this but it's loads of fun so there.

This video is kick ass because it shows Rei transforming & some of the corny but cool special effects in the series.

Nov 22, 2007

J-Music Clip of the Week

Artists: Nakanomori Band
Single: Isobravo(Music Fighter performance)

Isobravo video DL

SOG's Puffy Concert Review - Super Extended Director's Cut



Not an actual picture from the concert. Thanks, Slim's!

November 15, 2007 - Slim's, San Francisco, CA, USA

So it’s been a week since the Puffy concert, and I’ve finally come back to Earth. It was awfully tempting to come here and post the second I came home from the show, and tell everyone how F’N SWEET it was and how it blew every expectation I had out of the water and into a million tiny pieces. But I decided to let the adrenaline rush settle, to pull back and write with a clearer head. I wanted to give myself the time to ask the questions people need to ask after finally witnessing something they were so excited about that that they’d already convinced themselves beforehand that it was great no matter how it turned out:
Okay, how did they really sound?
How did they really look?
Am I glad I went? Would I tell anyone about this?
Would I spend my money to go again?
So, my head is clear is a bell, my pulse is at its normal rate and my feet are firmly on the ground – I will say in all honesty that the show was F’N SWEET and completely surpassed my expectations.
The night officially started when I picked up Rangudon at his place and collected the money he owed me. You have to hand it to Rangudon – you only have to threaten to tear off one of his ears before he pays up. We wasted a few precious minutes talking about J-pop, Puffy, Namie and what a piece of trash Tsuji was for missing the concert before we were on our way to meet the third member of our party. He never gave himself a cool YODC codename, so I’ll give him one: ChubbyChaser. Don’t ask. ChubbyChaser is not a Puffy fan, or even a J-pop fan, but he wanted to tag along because his life is completely empty, and who am I to pass up free bridge toll?
The line outside Slim's. Cameras are not allowed. Not at all. Have we made that clear, people???
We got to Slim’s with plenty of time for the 8pm start time, and there was a line forming. We got our tickets at will call, where we were given the first, and one of the only, bummers of the night: no cameras were allowed at the concert – a fact that the kind people at Slim’s decided to reiterate to us approximately 34,000 more times before the show started.
The Honeysweeper tour towel
Slim’s is a nice little bar. It’s about the size of a walk-in closet but has a remarkably clean bathroom. Half of the floor is completely clear in front of the stage for standing fans, the other half has tables for diners. There was a small booth selling Puffy merchandise by the door and I got a few things, including a t-shirt featuring a Puffy takeoff of the old RUN-DMC Adidas logo. Unfortunately the largest size they had was medium and it fits so tight that it makes me look like I’ve stuffed Ami, Yumi and maybe their keyboard player under it while they desperately try to escape.
My "so tight it makes me look even gayer" Puffy t-shirt.
First highlight of the night: the table was run by a very hot babe. So hot in fact, that if it had been anyone else headlining that night I would’ve spend the whole show leering to my left pretending to want another t-shirt.
My slightly better-fitting Honeycreeper shirt. The bird is a honeycreeper.
Rangudon, ChubbyChaser and I found a table, ordered food, then proceeded to suffer through an opening act that sounded like The Cure without the giddy exuberance and zest for life. I swear, who found these guys? Again, if it were anyone else headlining, I would’ve jammed our bendy-straws up my nose and poked out my eardrums from the inside. But in a way they may have been the perfect warm-up, as they made Puffy seem even more fun and energetic. And in between their mind-numbing songs they’d say things like, “Are you ready for Puffy?” “Did you know Puffy has a MySpace page?” and “We have a couple more songs then Puffy’s coming out.” With their depressing music and shameless namedropping, they really had me looking forward to seeing my girls. Of course, these guys could have me looking forward to a prostate exam from Nosferatu, but enough about them.
People trickled in throughout the opening act, and before we knew it, the little club was packed tightly with fans (roughly 200 I’d say), mostly adults, some young teens and about an even mix of Caucasians and Asians. As they prepared the stage, I left ChubbyChaser and Rangudon to maneuver my way through the sardine can of an audience and wedge myself firmly front and center.
And after hours—days—weeks—months—hell—years of waiting, I finally saw Puffy take the stage in San Francisco.
I can say this without the least bit of exaggeration: if two angels fell from Heaven, crashed through the roof of a dimly lit bar and landed in the middle of a crowd of sweaty otaku scum, they would look exactly like Ami and Yumi.
Seeing them in person for the first time, I was shocked at their size. These are two petite girls. More often than not, pictures and video make celebrities seem physically larger than they really are, but these ladies look they could fit into a snow globe. And although both of them are reaching their mid-30s, they’re amazingly just as fresh faced and pretty as they were when they debuted 11 years ago.
Both of them sported the big hair they had in their Gap ad.
Ami’s outfit: Black sleeveless t-shirt that read “Stay Gold Soc’s” (a reference to The Outsiders), blue cotton pants, black Chuck Taylors.
Yumi’s outfit: Red sleeveless t-shirt with Bugs Bunny on it, black jeans, black Chuck Taylors.
The perfect brew of kawaii and rockstar.
The show started with “Boom Boom Beat” from their new album Honeycreeper. It got the crowd bouncing, and we never really stopped. Their set featured about five or six songs from Honeycreeper, a few from Splurge and some old stuff that whipped the crowd into an even bigger frenzy. Here’s the set list from what I remember (the order gets fuzzy in the middle):
1. Boom Boom Beat
2. Tokyo I’m On My Way
3. Electric Beach Fever (an old song that they used to end shows with)
4. Teen Titans (as you can guess, this drove the audience berserk and everyone but ChubbyChaser was singing along. It is literally impossible not to chant T-E-E-N-T-I-T-A-N-S-TEEN TI-TANS-LET’S GO when Puffy leads)
5. Kimi to Ootobai
6. Mogura Like (complete with dance)
7. Joining a Fan Club
8. Kuchibiru Motion (possibly the best song on Honeycreeper, IMO)
9. Puffy the Monster (aka Ghost Puffy)
10. Oriental Diamond
11. Radio Tokyo
12. Closet Full of Love
13. Hi Hi
14. Complaint
15. Red Swing (with red light bathing the stage)
16. Basket Case (Green Day cover that blew the roof off)
17. True Asia (Puffy’s very first single. It was awesome to hear this one live, and the crowd was singing along even though most of us didn’t speak Japanese)

ENCORE:
18. Wild Girls on Circuit (One of their BEST songs)
I think that’s all of them, although I may have missed one or two songs. If you know their material, you’ll see that they did mostly “rock” sounding songs as opposed to the more “pop” sounding songs.
As far as their performance went – it was incredible. There’s no shortage of Puffy live footage on the web, and some of their shows are…spotty. The girls walk around in circles, look down at the stage and avoid eye contact with the crowd while screaming their lyrics. While still eager to see them perform, I was half expecting that. But thankfully that’s not what we got.
What we did get was Ami and Yumi singing in harmony, dancing energetically, interacting with the crowd, smiling, laughing and genuinely appearing to have a great time. At one point Yumi even grabbed hold of a pillar on stage and hung over the first two rows as she sung (it’s impressive if know how small Slim’s is). Both of them have such presence that you can’t take your eyes off them for a second, despite the fact that they’re so little you could trip over them.
After every few songs, the girls would pick up little spiral notebooks and read statements in stilted English and classic Kawaii fashion. It was interesting to see Yumi stomping around the stage and Ami throwing up devil horns one second, then both politely giggling (while covering their mouths, of course) and saying “Arigato, arigato” in sweet mousy voices the next. The capper was Ami gently telling the crowd: “This next song is from our new album, Honeycreeper. Please listen.”
By the way, Ami's English accent is very good. No mixing up Rs and Ls for her. I remember her doing most of the talking.
NOTE: You know you’re geeking out when you laugh hysterically at jokes like “The weather here is nice. We were just in Seattle and it was soooo cold,” and “I love clam chowder.”
The band sounded great – loud as hell but not so loud that your ears were ringing for a week. And fortunately they didn’t tinker with the songs too much. They were played the way were supposed to be played, only with more volume, more guitars and more pounding drums.
Hearing “True Asia” was kind of a surprise to me. They must’ve performed this song a few thousand times in the past decade, but they sung it with a lot of enthusiasm and didn’t change it around at all. That was good news for people who’d never heard the song live before.
After “Wild Girls on Circuit” the girls said their goodbyes and were gone. Their performance started just before 9pm and ended around 10:30, so that chump Tsuji could’ve come along and still gotten plenty of sleep for his morning shift. ChubbyChaser was pleasantly surprised, saying that the concert was “more rocking” than he expected.
Yes, it would be great to see Puffy in Japan, where they’re in commercials, ads, and more importantly, they play live regularly. But seeing them in such a small venue was a surreal experience. They were so close to me I literally could’ve reached out, grabbed them by the ankles and dragged them into the abyss with me. It’s hard to imagine watching them in an arena (not that I wouldn’t), where the first row would be at least 20 feet from the stage. Any further back and they’d probably look like two multicolored dots bouncing back and forth. Yes, there’d be more lights, more fireworks, and more elaborate outfits, but I recommend to any Japanese Puffy fans that want to visit The States to plan their trips around the girls’ American tours if possible. You’ll most likely never get closer to them or see them in a more casual setting. If they ever do take off in this country, it would most likely be the end these kinds of shows, and that would be a shame.
So was this the greatest experience of my life? I don’t know; I’ve had a lot of great experiences. Pitching my first game in little league. Graduating college. Seeing Freefall Jones get busted on To Catch a Predator. This show is certainly up there, because there are only a few minor things that could’ve made it any better:
1. ALLOW CAMERAS, DAMMIT.
2. More T-shirts in large size.
3. Ami and Yumi whisking me away and making me their personal man-groupie/shameless errand boy.
Without a doubt, I want to see them again. Who knows if it will ever be as exciting as the first time, but if they perform anywhere near my area, I’m going to be there, and I recommend everyone do the same. Their energy, charisma and charm will even win over people who aren’t fans. It’s just an all-around good time. Let’s hope they don’t take another two years to hit these shores again.

Nov 20, 2007

One of these kids is doing his own thing


Me & my "gang" 8th grade

The back of this pic had the names of my crew:

Mango
Timmy B
Pookie
E-Dawg (short for Eriku Dawg)
Yung Erv
Stay-Z
Stan Man

We were like the Cosby Kids if there was one Asian member.

kjsdhflaskjflawkjhesflwajhrelawkj

Chicago Hip Hop history lesson: Caught in the Middle Magazine


Tsuji taking a piss at Psycho City San Francisco 1993


Judgemental fresh off a new music seminar MC battle win


Common Sense fresh off the release of "I Used to Lover H.E.R." single & the classic album Resurrection.

The year was 1994 & Tsuji found himself in Chicago. At the time Tsuji was heavy into Hip Hop & a new member of the Universal Zulu Nation. With dreams of releasing an album & fed up with producers flaking on him Tsuji saved up all his meager paychecks to buy two turntables, a mixer & an Ensoniq SP1200 sampling drum machine. Going by the name "Gothic" producing beats under the "Gotham City Productions" name Tsuji hooked up with some Hip Hop heads on the Northside namely tao of Syllabus Illabyss & AMC of CITM. Chicago's Fly Paper magazine had just went belly up & JBird & Kev of CITM had looked to fill the void with Caught in the Middle. I was in the right place at the right time & Kev put me down writing some reviews but mostly they just dubbed my Bay Area rap battle tapes & copied my pics I took from Psycho City & Oakland. Either way it was a cool experience. I traveled to New York with some of the crew to visit some of the peeps that bought ad space. I got to chill at Bobbito's crib for a minute (at the time he was doing the legendary show with DJ Stretch Armstrong), that dude had hella pairs of kicks. I even stayed the night at El P's crib from Company Flow. Now I don't expect them to remember some skinny (at the time) asian kid from 1994 but it's all real & it was an interesting experience.

Caught in the Middle went belly up after 2 issues but they got an E for effort.

Nov 19, 2007

rugwqekjrhtq;wuthq



Yo Kings of Barry had this shit on A Little Bit of Randomness.
This dude's mom in the back reminds me of my grandma while I do Momosu dance routines in my boxers in the living room or fly my lego tie fighter around the house. She's totally oblivious to my stupidity as this dude's mom is to his slick moves, this guy's a dancin' fool!

God dammit my side hurts.

Nov 18, 2007

Don't run with scissors



Yo I once new a dude that was too good for South Park. Any way you slice it this is some funny shit. Don't front on it.

Weekly Dearest My Brother


The scene of the incident


Cover & awesome figure


A girl with cat ears licking up spilled milk...hmmm...


Some of my favorite work featured..

I was at the Kaiyodo Hobby Lobby just outside of Akihabara Eki picking up some Revoltech figures. The thing that I love about shopping in Japan is the cool little freebies that are sometimes thrown in with your purchase as a thank you. This time I got an issue of Weekly Dearest My Brother or Hebdomadaire Mon Frere. It was the special bonus edition & included a kick ass figure.

I especially enjoyed the artwork featured by Hanaharu Naruko, but it was all good & all free.




Nov 17, 2007

Take that Wonton!


Starscream with his Cybertronian brethren


Masterpiece Starscream

Look what I found at the Chadbourne Rd. Wal Mart today, hell yeah!
I did my fellow Transformers Otaku right & bought Wonton a Starscream of his very own. After all I couldn't stand to see a grown Wonton cry.

Puffy Honeysweeper Tour


p p p puffy!

11/18 Anaheim, CA @ House of Blues

a day late & a dollar short for the key club date...

Berryz Kobo's "Tsukiatte Iru no ni Kataomoi" PV



The Berryzpower!!! Berryzpower ... Berryzpower ... Risako*-power!!! :)

* Most likely to graduate!

...

How do you get to the Moon*? Why you fly of course.

Nov 16, 2007

Nov 14, 2007

J(or K)-Music Clip of the Week


Artists: m-flo loves Alex of CLAZZIQUAI PROJECT
Single: Love Me After 12AM(m-flo Tour 2007 COSMICOLOR)


Love Me After 12AM video DL

The Countdown Begins

Exactly 24 hours from now Rangudon and I will be rocking out with PUFFY in San Francisco, California. This may be the last post you ever get from me, as I expect my girls to take me on tour with them to share in their wacky adventures for the rest of my life.

And any self-respecting J-Pop fan (if there is such a thing) should get Puffy's newest album, Honeycreeper, just released in October:

I've listened to it nonstop since I got it. Ami and Yumi literally cannot miss. They really can't.

Never Enough Reina




from this



Nov 13, 2007

Tales from the Office: The Cheeto!

Mr. Alger has been kind enough to update me (via email) about his day at work on a semi-regular basis. The email subject heading is always You know you're a fat fauck when... with the body of the email explaining how his arch-nemesis annoys the hell out of him. One email in particular explained how his co-worker was shoveling cheetos into his mouth (the co-worker's mouth, not Langdon's mouth) with his right hand, while controlling his mouse with his left hand (and wiping his orange fingers on his pants before using the keyboard). As I askfdjha alsdkf ja skljfdsah ;sadflk j;alkj to myself as I read the email, I felt glad that I did not have to work with this individual.

the lone cheeto that escaped the jaws of death



on closer inspection, an M&M also escaped the bowels of Langdon's arch-nemesis

Nov 11, 2007

Smell Yo Dick

Random Clips of Reina

this has to be my favorite Reina clip...where she really shows off her "yankiness"









and my favorite girl Risa interviewing Reina on an old ep of Hello Pro Hour...pay attention to Reina at about 27sec in...too fauckin cute



Pic Of The Day "The Day Some Of Us Have All Been Waiting For..." Edition

Her Royal Hotness, The Wonkylicious Sex Bomb, my future second wife, Reina Tanaka, is finally legal!



My dear Reina, I can now finally commemorate this momentous occasion by stating (whether my girlfriend likes it or not) that I want to lick you from head to toe and then pound your punany so hard that you leave our suite at the Tokyo Hilton the next morning (no sleazy rabu-ho for Her Royal Hotness!) with an extra octave added to that beautiful singing voice of yours...



Nov 9, 2007

Nov 8, 2007

My Munny...Stage Three

I'm obsessed with getting this done...been working on it for about an hour a nite each day this week...here's my progress since Monday...

created the "afro puffs" by rolling the sculpey into a ball then slicing them in half


it didn't look quite right so I filled in the gaps between each "puff" with more sculpey then baked for about 15minutes at 275 degrees..as you can see..I also added Hasheem's little pug nose..

sanded down some of the rough spots on the afro..sprayed it with some grey primer then a coat of black spray paint..oh and I also made a little pick for his 'fro


all thats left for the head is painting it a flesh tone then drawing on the face....then I'm gonna work on the body...not gonna do anything special on that but I might try to sculpt a pair of shelltoes..