Jul 29, 2009

Hump Day Eye Candy Extravaganza

Every night, on my knees I pray,
"Dear Lord, hear my plea...
don't ever let another take her love from me
or I will surely die.."
Ooh, her love is heavenly;
when her arms enfold me,
I hear a tender rhapsody...
but in reality, she doesn't even know me
...


goddamn I want Risa..seriously, I want to marry this girl..yeah, I know, I've said that about Rika, Miki, ect..but I AM SERIOUS about Gaki-san..I am totally in love and I would feel incomplete without her in my life...I was oh-so close in meeting the future Mrs. Alger in person at Anime Expo but alas, the stars and the planets weren't properly aligned and our paths did not cross..but one day Risa, one day they will...Risa Niigaki-Alger everyone..

and I'm loving Risa's new hairstyle with the short bangs and shit...so kawaii



especially here...all up in a ponytail, ready for me to pull




aw god...my balls are hurting

Jul 28, 2009

Final Score: Sonic Youth - 4, Piano - 0.

Sonic Youth performs George Maciunas' avant-garde piano work, "Piano Piece #13". Video shot simultaneously with the recording session for this piece, which ended up on their SYR4: Goodbye 20th Century double album.

Not a FAIL in my book


courtesy of Failblog.org

Jul 26, 2009

J-Music Classic Clip of the Week

Artists: Boowy
Single: Only You



here's the Zoku Vu-den(Risako, Sayumi, Jun Jun) remake from the Hello!Project - Chanpuru ~Happy Marriage Song Shuu~ album


Risako totally owns this song

Jul 25, 2009

We're 4 BITCHES!!!!!

thanks to everyone who entered our YODC's Turning 4!!! Super Terrific Happy Exciting Anniversary Contest ....it was tough picking the winner but Siggy of Conflict Productions took the top prize..Congrats!!

amazing yo-yo tricks, yakety sax playing in the the background and a Physics Team Member tshirt?!!..what more can you ask for?

thanks to everyone who've continually peeped the site these 4 long years and big shout to the YODC team, past and present, for keeping this blog chopped full of pointless and useless blogging goodness..no one, I mean NO ONE does it better than YODC

The Son of Gigan REAL MAN Hall of Fame Induction II

The inaugural Son of Gigan REAL MAN Hall of Fame induction ceremony shook the World Wide Web to its very foundation. The unparalleled response it generated (THIRTEEN responses!) devoured all that bandwidth in its path (kind of like Unicron, but with bandwidth), sending Blogger.com into a tailspin from which it is only now, over THREE YEARS LATER, recovering. Millions of naive souls simultaneously discovering the truth about what a REAL MAN is will have that effect. The first Hall of Fame class consisted of the following pillars of beefcake:

1. The Transporter
2. Carrot Top
3. Conway Twitty
4. Frankenstein
5. Chong Li

Now, after intense deliberation, the second round of inductees has at last been decided. Webmasters, prepare for the tidal wave. And my loyal fans and testosterone enthusiasts, get on your feet in awe and appreciation for the July 2009 class of the Son of Gigan REAL MAN Hall of Fame.

Skeletor

As if carrying a staff with a severed head of a ram that he probably decapitated himself on it wasn't manly enough to get him in, Skeletor is inducted because he is obviously as dedicated to adding massive slabs of muscle to his mighty blue frame as he is to becoming supreme rule of Eternia. In our tragically un-He-Man-centric society, the name "Skeletor" is often used to describe overly skinny people - "You've lost so much weight! You look like Skeletor!" "Hey Skeletor, you need to eat something!" In reality, these pitiful pencil-necks only WISH they looked like Skeletor. The only thing they could possibly share with him is his disturbingly high-pitched voice. But the fact that he Skeletor sounds more like Inspector Gadget with his nuts trapped in his go-go-Gadget vice grips than The Evil Lord of Destruction that he is doesn't detract from his awe-inspiring hugeness. And who needs to unlock the secrets of Castle Grayskull when he's already unlocked the secret of getting his body jacked beyond belief while maintaining razor-thin leanness in his face? In fact, unless the mysterious prize behind Grayskull's drawbridge is a lifetime stash of superhuman protein shakes, Skeletor would be best served giving up his quest to conquer it and take up permanent residence with his brothers in the Son of Gigan REAL MAN Hall of Fame.


Gymkata

Screw all those politicians from the 80s, THIS is the man who won The Cold War. And he did it by kicking, flipping and flaring his way across the hostile country of Parmistan in order to establish a US satellite monitoring system that would warn our government of any future missile attacks from space. Okay, I admit that I'm kind of confused by that last sentence. And I'm still having trouble finding Parmistan on a map. But hey, have YOU been hit with any space missiles since Gymkata took care of business? 'Nuff said. Even before his heroic service to the USA, Gymkata achieved REAL MAN status by singlehandedly sucking the gayness out of gymnastics by applying it to dislodging brainstems instead of winning faggy medals. In his greatest display of ass-kickitude, Gymkata beat down an entire village of homicidal maniacs using nothing but his skills and such everyday, about-town items as a pommel horse and a high bar. If the Olympics ever institutes events for severing spinal cords, scrambling neurons, crushing spleens and cracking jawbones, and we all hope they do, this REAL MAN will place at the top of the podium in every one.
Not a pommel horse - A PUMMEL HORSE




Kool Moe Dee


You want to know his occupation? He gets paid to rock the nation. As you all know, when it comes to hip hop, SOG is all about the Old Skool. Unlike da sucka MCs of today, Old Skool rappers were true multitaskers. No rapper that ever touched a microphone after 1989 could replicate Kool Moe Dee's feat of infiltrating the castle of the nefarious Dr. Yo while spitting super dope funky fresh lyrics like "After I have ya I have to slap ya senseless with endless rhymes don't pretend this is anything short of stupendous" and "This time a native New Yorker's riding a crescendo wave to save the mental state of the fan so he can understand my pencil." That's right; he used the words "stupendous" AND "crescendo." Better yet, his mad flow doesn't even get interrupted while he does battle with a ninja posse or a rock-throwing cyborg. Kool Moe Dee is so adept he defeats one ninja apparently by just turning his back, and beats the cyborg by...well...the ending's kind of ambiguous but I'm sure he won. Just as he would win a freestyle battle with any so-called-artist this decade without fogging up his Porsche 5620s. Any CEO who wants his company to thrive should require every employee to listen to "I Go to Work" at the beginning of each day. Productivity will be guaranteed to increase by at least 6000%.


Urge to go to work...rising...




Thor
What could be more BADASS than the legendary Norse god of thunder? THE LEGENDARY NORSE GOD OF THUNDER WITH AN F’N MACHINE GUN THAT’S WHAT. When Mjolnir just won’t get the job done, Thor takes a more modern approach to disposing of his enemies - mowing them down with a hail of bullets. If that wasn't enough, when he isn't battling Loki, chiseling his pectorals or shining his codpiece, this inductee is shaking the heavens with timeless hard rock anthems. Personally, I can't think of a more MANLY activity than cruising the streets in your sweet Trans Am while blasting classic Thor albums like Rock Warrior, Keep the Dogs Away and Beastwomen from The Center of the Earth. A long-haired, AK-47 toting, weightlifting heavy metal singer from Asgard? Thor just might have a wing named after him in the Son of Gigan REAL MAN Hall of Fame. Until it's constructed, you can get your Thor fix at ThorCentral.com.




Schneider

Mark this down and don't forget it: no one, NO ONE, can pull off the thumbs-in-the-tool belt pose like this swarthy superintendant. In fact, there are a lot of things Schneider can do that normal "men" can't. Like making all manner of household repairs and revving the engine of the lusty Ms. Romano, all while acting as a father figure to her two daughters – hot, jiggly jailbate Barbara and bucktoothed cokehead Julie. In a perfectly MANLY world, everyone with a Y chromosome would have a form-fitting denim vest and bellbottoms in his wardrobe, and a moustache on his face. Alas, only some of us do. Sigh…

Let's bang our meaty fists together in salute to this class of the SOGRMHOF. And let's hope it won't take another three years to uncover enough REAL MEN to make a decent induction ceremony. But choosing the members of the prestigious Hall can't be done haphazardly. Entry criteria is so strict that it makes MENSA look like your local YMCA or whatever college Freefall Jones went to. But no one can deny the credentials of this group of Thoroughbreds. Follow their example faithfully, and one day you may find yourself being inducted into the Son of Gigan REAL MAN Hall of Fame. Ah, who am I kidding? You'll never get in.

Jul 24, 2009

Natsu no yume

It's summer! Break out your bermudas & vans, chuck taylors & shades...sip on coronas
grill up some steaks holler at bikini clad breezies!

Here's 2 songs that are on my summer playlist Rip Slyme!!!!



Rip Slyme "Taiyou to Bikini"



Rip Slyme "Splash"

Jul 23, 2009

YODC's Turning 4!! Super Terrific Happy Exciting Contest





tis true indeed, YODC celebrates its 4th year in existence July 25th and to commemorate this milestone, we are holding a contest..contest you say?..YES a contest. The rules are plain and simple, send in a picture or video of yourself showing some YODC love. Get creative, make a HUGE sign, carve our initials in the sand at the beach, do a little dance, ANYTHING you can think of. And yes, their will be prizes!!

Prizes will include:

*Grand Prize winner will receive their choice of 1 shirt from the Official YODC Eshop

*other winners will receive a choice(1 pic) of pics from the 2 Morning Musume picture sets from Anime Expo(Reina, Risa and Sayumi not included)


* and all participants will get an autograph picture of YODC contributor Son of Gigan


and the rules:
*all entries can be sent to yodc.alger@gmail.com
** include YODC BIRTHDAY CONTEST in the subject line
***along with your entry, please include your name, email address and your blogger name/nickname
*enter as many times as you want

*1 prize per contestant...eh, maybe more than one prize

*all entries must be received by 1159pm(PST) Thursday, July 23rd
*winners will be announced Saturday, July 25th



GOOD LUCK!!!...and thanks for your continued support

Weinstein's Fusionfunkysouljazz Part 3

Michael White - Her

Michael White was a jazz violinist probably best known for his stint with John Handy in the mid 60s. He appeared on various jazz fusion releases notably with the group the Fourth Way. His music has been quite melodic. When one thinks of the violin, jazz fusion doesn't come to mind. But this offering makes you feel like you're on a cloud. The only other fusion violinist I can think of is Michal Urbaniak.
Check out this tune from the album 'Go with the Flow' in 1974.


Jul 22, 2009

Hump Day Eye Candy Extravaganza

have I mentioned how awesome Akiba-Online.com is?..its where I go for all my Gravure Idol dvd needs(as well as jav)..thats how I found this cutey..Yurika Narahara everyone..enjoy






Jul 21, 2009

Bollywood Babes

Janina Gavankar

This hot piece of Indo-Dutchness hails from Illinois. She made her presence known on the HBO show the L Word. How could you be mad at that?
I bet her parents are upset, but you can't stay mad at her because of her hotness. She's appeared in that show the Cleaner on cable.

I want to make sweet love to her.

Jul 20, 2009

Diggin' In The Crates "Double Update" Edition

Referencing this post... it took me six and a half months, but I finally nailed a copy of this motherfucker:


Artist: AKB48
Title: "Skirt, Hirari"/"Aozora no soba ni ite"
Label: AKB48 Records/AKS

I have AKB48 as a daily search on my eBay e-mail updates... and when this came up, I nailed it. Now, especially since the "Namida Surprise" single and video came out in time for my birthday, this really makes my collection of main AKB48 singles (one of every single release; I haven't gone variation crazy save for grabbing the "Theatre Version" of "Oogoe Diamond") complete.

And secondly, referencing back to the very first Diggin' In The Crates post...

Artist: Beastie Boys featuring Nas
Title: "Too Many Rappers" 12" single
Label: Capitol Records
Vinyl: 180-gram vinyl

The Beasties love vinyl, so it's no surprise that, in advance of their forthcoming album and in the wake of Paul's Boutique, Check Your Head and Ill Communication getting new heavy-vinyl reissue treatments, they'd drop a new 12" single - on 180-gram stock, yet - as part of Record Store Day's new "Vinyl Saturday" monthly campaign. It's also no surprise that, since they love hip-hop, they've had it with all the 10th generation 50 Cent clones filling much needed voids over the past several years, or that Mr. Nasir Jones came in, plugged in a mic of his own, and joined Mike D, Ad-Rock and MCA on this testimonial lament about "too many rappers, not enough emcees." Enough said. Tell 'em where it's at, boys:

If that isn't enough for you, there's a live version from the band's appearance at Bonnaroo on YouTube here.

Jul 17, 2009

AX Pics Part Two - C-Zone

here's pics I took of C-Zone prior to their performance..




















thats Yume in the middle..I fell in love as soon as my eyes saw her












(not my clip)


Jul 15, 2009

Hump Day Eye Candy Extravaganza / J-Music Clip of the Week

more momosu action..why? cuz I've been a Morning Musume mood as of late..I wonder why? her royal hotness Reina Tanaka everyone




AND here's Reina's track off the recently released Chanpuru 1~Happy Marriage Song Cover Shuu~ entitled Heya to Y shatsu to Watashi


Reina's voice is sweet and dare I say angelic in this song

here's the original(?) version by Eri Hiramatu

(volume is low on this clip)

and mihimaru GT also covered this song..their PV was very touching..aaaaaw

Jul 14, 2009

Jul 13, 2009

Diggin' In The Crates "Belated Birthday" Edition

Since yesterday (July 12) was his 72nd birthday...

Artist: Bill Cosby
Title: At Last Bill Cosby Really Sings
Label: Partee/Stax
Vinyl: Somewhat thin black vinyl

This album is neither the Bill Cosby that was turning Stevie Wonder and Jimi Hendrix songs into comic gold with the Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band backing him up, and slipping those singles in with either serious covers of Jimmy Reed tunes (the whole first side of his first singing album, Silver Throat [Warner Bros. WS 1709 (1966)] is dominated by Reed covers) or tongue-in-cheek covers of Beatles, Stones, and Motown tunes (on Hooray For The Salvation Army Band [Warner Bros.-Seven Arts WS 1728 (1967)], nor the Cos that was composing and producing jazz sessions for Verve while The Cosby Show was mandatory Thursday night TV viewing, and it sure isn't the Bill C. that had pseudonymously led a more serious music album under the Badfoot Brown & The Bunions Bradford Funeral Marching Band name for Uni (two sides of improvised and funky music with Bill on keyboards, most notable for being sampled by A Tribe Called Quest on The Low End Theory). Nope, this little known "gem", if it can be called that, is so off the chart indescribable that it's probably a wonder that this mofo hasn't hit CD yet.

Cosby had longtime pal Stu Gardner (who would later help Cosby compose much of his first Verve jazz album Where You Lay Your Head) came up with nine tunes, grabbed a few Los Angeles session pros of the day, including Ray Parker Jr. (yes, that Ray Parker Jr.), recorded the whole thing, and offered it to Stax Records under the title At Last Bill Cosby Really Sings.

Unfortunately for everyone involved, there were several factors involved in this album pretty much disappearing not long after its 1974 release. For one, Stax Records itself was on its last legs, having been buttraped by an ill-fated distribution deal with CBS Records that did no favors for either Stax, who closed up shop before 1974 itself was a memory, or for CBS, who had balked on buying a 50% share of the label when it was first offered in favor of the distribution deal, then avoided many of the same outlets in the black community that Stax used to sell to and kept the label in the background as far as larger retailers were concerned so that they wouldn't undercut CBS's own R&B roster. For another, the album doesn't really live up to its title. Bill does a little crooning on "Kiss Me", and some goofy faux-African scat-singing on "Dance of the Frozen Lion", but what he does mostly on this album is either talk or yelp, and while those might qualify as vocals, they don't qualify as singing! Folks, Henry Rollins (who grew up on a lot of soul and funk music when he was a young boy in D.C., before the Ramones happened) could have a case of laryngitis awful enough to reduce his voice to a whisper, and he'd still be able to croak out successions of in-tune notes compared to what passes for Cosby's vocal work on most of this disc. Stax themselves probably did The Cos a favor by putting the record out on their comedy-oriented Partee imprint (the same label that Richard Pryor's That Nigger's Crazy album was originally released on) instead of on the regular Stax label or one of their other subsidiaries, lest they face thousands of angry fans ganging up on the label's McLemore Avenue headquarters with pitchforks and torches, demanding the heads of Al Bell and Jim Stewart (Stax's brain trust at the time), demanding to know why this travesty was released on the same label as "Hold On I'm Comin'" and Hot Buttered Soul.

Perhaps its fortunate that, presuming that they still own the master rights, this more oddball of Bill C.'s musical adventures has not yet been reissued on CD by Stax's current owners, Concord Music Group (Badfoot Brown was finally reissued last year by Dusty Grooves, while Wounded Bird digitized Silver Throat and Hooray...). But that's just my opinion; a perusal of the vinyl rip posted below should help in forming yours:

Jul 11, 2009

Weinstein's Fusionfunkysouljazz Part 2

Gary Bartz - Love Tones

Gary Bartz was a very good straight ahead jazz alto saxophonist. This guy has played with the likes of Max Roach and Miles Davis. His music in the early 1970s tended to be spiritual and soulful jazz that had an African tinge to it. His music was very socially conscious and the African themes were based on unity and brotherhood. With the wave of disco and funk his music went that direction. Not what is expected of such an accomplished jazz musician, but it is still better than 95% of all music being played right now.
Check out this gem from 1975.


Jul 10, 2009

BADASS

'NUFF SAID

Um, isn't this a little extreme?


Every once in a while, my hometown comes up with a what-the-fuck moment worthy of a photograph. This is one of those times.

Jul 9, 2009

Bollywood Babes

Sayali Bhagat
Another late edition of the Babes. This fish was a pageant runner up in one of those "lech-man chooses the winner" things.
She was in this movie called the Train...featuring another former post, Geeta Basra.
Although that was the only movie she was in, she nonetheless gets some meshuggeneh from Weinstein.

Jul 8, 2009

Hump Day Eye Candy Extravaganza

I still can't believe I saw Morning Musume with me own eyes!! especially Sayumi, my god she was looking hot with her trade mark pigtails and it was even hotter when she got all sweaty and her hair was all matted to her forehead...only if I can turn back time and be able to get closer to her but I digress. Here's preview pics of Sayummy's upcoming photobook 20 sai set to be released next monday which happens to be her birthday so an early Happy 20th Birthday shout out to Sayumi











Jul 7, 2009

AX Pics Part One

didn't take many pics at the con but I'm pretty sure SoG did and I know Eriku took some video footage..so here's my pics of the very busy H!P booth who by the way had one hot looking chick working there(no pics of her, sorry)..she looked just like gravure idol Minase Yashiro


suprisingly, most of the merch they had were decently price(except for the Hangry Angry plushies that went for over $100 each) albiet it wasn't much. Only a couple shirts, photo sets, poster, ect...I was hoping for more though but with H!P opening up a US online shop via Japanfiles soon, I wasn't too disappointed


our buddies from J-List were right across the aisle
and a bonus pic of SoG in his "gamers stance" trying to win god knows what..notice how everyone cleared away from him